Combat Actions

The following Actions are the basic maneuvers you may perform during the Action step of combat (step 5 above). When it is your turn to perform an Action, you may perform one of the following basic maneuvers, or you may instead use an Item, Skill or Power. However, you are limited to ONE Action during each round of combat (unless specifically directed by an Item, Skill or Power).

Short Range Combat: In order to use a Short Range Action, the Combatant must 5' or less from his intended target. The Combatant declares that he is attacking one target, and how he is attacking him. He has the ability to declare that he is using ONE Item to supplement the attack (this does not include Items which are Continuous or Wearable/Continuous which may be in effect anyway). The Item can be a Weapon or some other Item which may or may not give him an advantage during the Action. The Combatant must now reveal the Item he will be using to his target. He must also reveal any additional Items which are Continuous or Wearable/Continuous which will modify his AC Pick. Now the Combatant calculates his Offense. Skills and Powers can be freely added to the calculation, as long as they do not constitute a second form of attack (many Powers can SUBSTITUTE for an attack, and in that case, you would use the description of the Power as the calculation of the attack). The calculation is (1 AC Pick + OR + modifiers). As previously noted, if the AC Pick contains an Ace, this entire calculation will equal 0 (Item modifiers are part of the calculation).

The Combatant is not obligated to add his entire OR to the attack. He may "pull his punch" by adding as much of his calculated OR (defined as the OR which is available to him as a result of adding in all modifiers) as he wants to (but he must add at least 1 point). This option is not available if the Item he is using to supplement the attack specifically states that he must use his full OR when it is being used. In the case of most Weapons, pulling your punch means you are (for example) targeting a leg instead of a torso, etc. Note that he MUST announce how much of his OR he is using BEFORE the AC Pick.

Once the Combatant's Offense is calculated, it is time for the target to calculate his Defense. First, he is able to declare up to ONE Item to supplement the Defense (this does not include Items which are Continuous or Wearable/Continuous which may be in effect anyway). The Item might be a shield or some other Item which may or may not help his Defense. The target now reveals the Item he will be using to his attacker, as well as any additional Items which are Continuous or Wearable/Continuous which will modify his AC Pick. Now the target calculates his Defense. Skills and Powers can be freely added to the calculation, as long as they do not constitute any sort of attack. The calculation is (1 AC Pick + DR + modifiers). As previously noted, if the AC Pick contains an Ace, a special draw is required which will subtract from the calculation (see rules for "Action Cards", above).

Now the Offense is compared to the Defense. If the Defense equals or exceeds the Offense, the attack misses and does no damage, and the Action is over. If the Offense exceeds the Defense, then the attack hits. The target's LIFE is thus decreased by the point difference between the Offense and Defense (i.e. 15 Offense vs. 10 Defense = 5 points of damage). If the target's LIFE is still above 0, he is "wounded", but may continue the combat. The Action is now over.

Long Range Combat: All Long Range Combat works exactly the way Short Range Combat works, with one exception: Instead of using OR, the Combatant uses DR in the Offense calculation. As above, the Combatant may add as little or as much of his DR as he wants to the attack calculation, unless the Item, Skill or Power he is using for the Long Range Attack specifically states otherwise. Remember that the Combatant's DR is HALVED (rounded up) for all subsequent calculations for the remainder of the round, cumulatively.

In order to use a Long Range Action, the intended target must be greater than 5' away.

Taking a Blow: An Avatar may elect to "jump into the path" of an attack directed at another Avatar, if he is in Short Range of the target. This Action takes effect immediately, so any further attacks in the current round will be affected. However, the Avatar taking this Action may carry it over (declared in step 1) and continue it into the next round. The Avatar who is Taking a Blow can perform no other Actions (it is assumed that all of his concentration is going towards protecting another Avatar). The Avatar who is being thus protected will continue to be protected IF and ONLY IF he does not take any Action other than Flee (explained later). At the point where the protected Avatar takes any Action other than Flee, he is no longer considered to be protected by the Avatar who is Taking a Blow, and the if the protecting Avatar wants to continue protecting him, he must re-establish Taking a Blow with the Avatar during his next Action step. note that the use of the Flee Action is optional in this situation; the Avatar being protected may very well just sit there and do nothing.

Taking a Blow may not be combined with any other Action (such as Defensive Stance or Flee), and an Avatar Taking a Blow is NOT allowed to use any of the Dodging Skills, Acrobatics or Fluid Motion. It has NO effect on Mental Attacks directed at the protected Avatar (although an Avatar who was going to Mentally attack the protected Avatar may decide to attack the Avatar who is Taking a Blow instead). Further, this Action can NOT be used as a Reaction; the protecting Avatar MUST announce his intention to Take a Blow during HIS Action (as determined by Initiative), so he cannot protect an Avatar from an attack during a faster Avatar's Action.

You may NOT Take a Blow if you are involved in a melee which does not include the Avatar you want to protect.

Fleeing Combat: An Avatar may declare a Flee Action, in which he attempts to escape from the current combat. The Avatar calculates his chance to Flee in the following manner: (1 AC Pick + DR + modifiers). Any other Avatar who is involved in the combat may now challenge the Fleeing Avatar by calculating his chance to Catch: (1 AC Pick + DR + modifiers). If ANY single Avatar's Catch calculation exceeds the Fleeing Avatar's Flee calculation, the Fleeing Avatar has FAILED, and must continue in the current combat.

If the Fleeing Avatar's Flee calculation equals or exceeds ALL challenging Avatar's Catch calculations, then he has successfully Fled the Combat. In this case, the Fleeing Avatar cannot remain in the presence (visual range) of any of the remaining Combatants during the remainder of the combat. Further, he may not become a Combatant in any combat for a period of one hour from the time he Fled (he may neither attack nor be attacked, but may continue to perform non-combat-related actions in the Nexus). The Avatar who has Fled cannot be the target or initiator of any Surprise Actions during this time (including PickPocket), and he cannot point a Weapon at or makes any threatening gestures at anyone during the hour, and may not interact IN ANY WAY with any of the Combatants he Fled from.

Special Note: Although in most cases any command given to an Avatar via one of the Mental Skills, Powers or Items must fall within the framework of the rules (i.e. an Avatar cannot be commanded to attack if it is not his turn to do so in a combat), a special exception is made for the command to Flee, IF AND ONLY IF anyone who might stop the Avatar from Fleeing immediately declares that he will NOT attempt to stop the Avatar from Fleeing. Under this circumstance, an Avatar can be commanded to immediately leave a combat and begin his Flee time.

Charge: Any Combatant may Charge to a new position on the battlefield as an Action, as long as there is currently no hostile Combatant within 5' of him (defined as any Combatant who is still ABLE to affect him with a Short Range Action and who states his hostility and therefore his objection to the Avatar using a Charge). The result of the Charge must be determined in advance, and is determined in 5' increments (for the purposes of a Charge maneuver, actual distance traveled does NOT influence the result or the timing). When Charging to a new position, he will simply declare generally where he wants to end up, based on common sense placement of other Combatants. For example, he might say "I am closing to within 15 feet of Player A, which puts me 20 feet away from Player B" - if there is a dispute about actual range, it should be resolved by applying common sense to prior calculations, or in the case of an unresolved dispute, by random draw.

Once an Avatar has established where he is Charging, any other Combatant whose VERY last Action (either in the current combat or outside of combat; for example, a Surprise attack) was a Long Range Action specifically directed AT the Charging Avatar (group effects do not qualify) gets EITHER a "free" Action at Long Range, directed ONLY at this target (it cannot be a group effect), OR gets a "free" Item Swap (at each player's discretion). If an Avatar chooses to use a free Action, and it is a second Long Range Attack in the same round, it will further halve his DR for subsequent calculations. Regardless of the actual Action, it is calculated normally as if the player had done it on his Turn, including loss of played cards from the AC Deck.

A Charge maneuver counts as an Action, so the Charging Avatar cannot take any other Action during that round of combat, unless special circumstances permit. Note that you are NOT allowed to use a Charge Maneuver if you are currently involved in a melee.

Continue to Next Section...

© 2005 by Double Exposure, Inc. All Rights Reserved. No portion of this text may be reprinted or used in any manner other than for the purposes of participating in the Avatar System 2.6 as managed by Double Exposure, Inc.

Home | Forum | Events | Avatars | Galleries | Links
© 2005 Double Exposure, Inc. All rights reserved.